I DID It Folks


It has been about 10 months since I last wrote a blog, how crazy is that considering I use to write in my blog all the time. I actually miss writing I’ve been Vlogging a lot over the last bit. Well not a WHOLE LOT… but more then writing haha. So, on my last update I talked a little about going back to school. How I made the decision to demote myself at my current job at that time so I could take on this new journey and learn something new for a different career path.

I’m not going to lie (and I think I mentioned in the last blog) I was so scared after I pressed my acceptance to the program. I wasn’t really sure what the next seven months was going to look like or if I could even handle it. WELL I’m proud to say that after my acceptance into the Early Childhood Education (Intensive) Program at Mohawk College, and after 7 long months of studying, assignments, and placements I have completed my program this past August. I worked really hard in my semesters and made the Dean’s list for both my winter and summer semesters. I graduated this past October with Honours. I was never the smartest to pull off the marks I did in school, even when I was in Journalism I never pushed myself.

This time around, I had more to lose then to gain if I didn’t push myself. I sacrificed my time with Mac and the Girls, my family, and my relationship. I took a huge huge pay cut by demoting my position at work just to make time to do this. But I feel being 31, and having so much more motivation to succeed I really couldn’t focus on anything else other then the light at the end of the tunnel.

My goals of graduating this time WITH a job, connecting with people and developing solid contacts. I did graduate school with a job offer with the HWCCCC Corporation, I made A LOT of new friends in my program. Many, many, many of these women are mothers, university graduates and just some of the most talented and inspirational people I could surround myself with. I was truly lucky, because I never felt a long when I was frustrated and I always had a classmate to help me work it out as I hope I helped them too during that time. I had professors that were so supportive and really wanted to see us succeed. I had a fantastic support system starting with my family, and extending to my friends (you all know who you are).

So I am currently working at a child care centre building my contacts, my portfolio, and building another name for myself so I can then move to another sub chapter in my life because my journey is far from over, but I have to remember that you always walk one foot in front of the other, and I still my trip on my laces but I have to tie them back up and keep walking forward to the next goal.

McKayla and the girls are doing fantastic, and are growing up so quickly, all of them with their own personality.

-Christina

~ by Christina Sears on December 6, 2016.

One Response to “I DID It Folks”

  1. Hi there, I just came across an old blog post of yours about missing girl Sheryl Sheppard- check out podcast Someone Knows Something, they’re getting into it. Cheers, Mel

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
