The Claddagh…


Minolta DSCIt’s crazy some of the stuff you learn if you stop and ask questions. I was out with my sister-in-law today and we came across this custom hand made jewelry and other jewelry that were symbols for different things. 

I find it fascinating to learn about different cultures and the spiritual beliefs and other beliefs they have it keeps life interesting and I feel personally keeps me more balanced. I feel like I have to have that open mind and to each their own attitude.

My sister-in-law inquired about this ring that has two hands a heart and a crown on it. It’s not the most appealing ring I’m sure some would think it was pretty tacky, but there was a meaning to the symbol and after listening to the lady explain it with such passion something in me told me I NEEDED to have this ring.

So I purchased it, don’t know what possessed me to want to buy this ring BUT I had to have it. I use to have this rosary ring that was blessed and brought back from Italy for me from my Aunt ( I lost it) but the reason I’m bringing it up because having this ring meant the same as having the ring my aunt brought back from me. I knew I needed it and it had to be on my finger.

The ring is called The Claddugh (pretty much pronounced as it’s spelled). 

From what I read about 400 or so years ago in a fishing village called Claddagh that overlooks Galway Bay close to they city of Tribes lived a man named Richard Joyce and he was a master Goldsmith. It was said that he crafted this design which is now famous and has become part of the Irish heritage. BUT there are a lot of different stories to how The Claddagh design became what it is. That was only one story. 

With that being said I’ve also read that The Claddagh Ring belongs to  a group of European finger rings called “Fede Rings”. The name “fede” comes from the Italian phrase “Mani in fede” (hands joined in faith, or hands joined in loyalty). These rings date from Roman times when the gesture of clasped hands was a symbol of pledging vows, and they were used as engagement/wedding rings in medieval and renaissance europe. 

Image

The Claddagh ring can also be use as a friendship ring as well but like I said in the previous paragraph it was commonly used as an engagement ring or wedding ring. It was meant to be passed down when someone was ready to get married it defined the status of the wearers relationship. 

If you wear it on the right hand with the point of the heart toward the fingertips, the wearer is single and may be looking for love. This is most common in a case where  a young women has first received the ring from a relative unless she is already engaged.

If you wear it on the right hand with the point of the heart toward the wrist, the wearer is in a relationship suggesting to anyone who sees the ring that the wearers heart has been captured.

If you wear it on the left hand with the point of the heart toward the fingertips, the wearer is engaged

Lastly if you wear it on the left hand and the point of the heart is toward the wrist the wearer is married. 

The Hands symbolize friendship, the heart obviously symbolizes love and the crown symbolizes loyalty. 

I saw a bracelet that I wanted to buy online but I think I will hold off incase I ever get the chance to travel to thailand or something I would love to get a bracelet made but it symbolize being a fighter in some way. I read about a bracelet online and the beads has a lot of meaning for a samurai and I wanted it. BUT its something I would love to get if I get the chance to go to the country. 

Another cultures believes that I’m really interested in is the natives…. I remember going to manitoulin and talking with some of the locals who crate and hand craft their own things and I wanted to know about them, about what it does for the spirit etc… Natives are so spiritual and some of the things they do spiritually is amazing and I love acquiring information about it. 

BUT its amazing what you stumble on, just on a regular day out it was pretty awesome to learn about some of the celtic symbols and what they mean today! Quite interesting to say the least.

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on January 14, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
