I Can’t Say Goodbye Just Cya Later (R.I.P)


Remembering #25 Cathy Huynh

This month has started off on a seriously bad note, a girl I went to high school with and was close to in my first year of high school passed away as she was backpacking through Vietnam. 

Cathy and I met playing midget basketball in grade nine at Cathedral High School in Hamilton. Although we were close in grade nine, sometimes people just go on their own way throughout high school and after. I wouldn’t say we ever had bad blood nor did I feel any negative feelings towards her. How can you, when she’s the type of person that could walk into the room and be the life of the party in a second. 

I haven’t really stayed in contact with anyone from high school, I think there are only a handful of people I could careless to talk to or see but the rest I sometimes catch myself wondering what they are up to and how they are doing. Although facebook has EVERYONE and their mother on it I can’t help but feel a little stupid to use it to catch up on old times! There are a few people I do talk to from elementary school and high school on it, and then some people I just never caught up with Cathy being one of those people.

I knew whatever she decided to do with her life would be full of adventure and excitement because she was just always that kind of person. I first caught wind of the news through a mutual friend of ours from the old basketball team back in grade 9. I really couldn’t believe it until I started seeing these news articles that followed. It still wasn’t real to me, and I just couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that she was just…. gone… 26 years old and gone! 

It wasn’t until she finally arrived home on Canadian soil, and I went to say my last goodbye to her at Friscolanti’s that it set it. I was standing in this room looking at a girl who I remember to always smile, crack a joke, kid around… and she was laying there lifeless. I thought that maybe one day I would bump into people like Cathy and catch up briefly on the
street or in a mall or at a mutual friend’s function, never in a million years did I think the next time I would see this girl would be at her funeral. 

I mean I had a close friend of mine from elementary school pass away 3 or 4 years ago, but due to work I was unable to see her before she was buried in her resting place. I mean her

R.I.P Cathy

passing hit me, but it never hit me like this. Same with one of my good guy friends in the USA Bodi… He passed away, and when his mom told me the news I was so heart broken and again couldn’t wrap my head around it. I mean I was talking to him not to long before his passing…. BUT again I couldn’t make it down to say goodbye with him living so far away.

Seeing Cathy, and being able to say goodbye really made me realize that everyday is a privilege, there are some people out there who are passing away, some fighting for their lives, and some praying that they can just breathe another day. It showed me that it doesn’t matter where you are, you can be taken at any time.

I guess I can see why my family was so worried when I went to Australia, I mean I was half way across the world, hiking in the rain forrest, snorkeling in open seas, in a country that was so very different then the place I call home. Anything could have happened while out there and I knew the risks when I booked the flight. Obviously places like Vietnam or Thailand are VERY VERY different then Australia… and you have to be extra careful. 

I told my mom about Cathy’s passing, and she didn’t know who I meant until I said “Jackie Chan.” We always joked with Cathy about how much she could pass as Jackie Chan’s daughter… it was kind of an inside joke… I said to my mom, can you imagine planning my funeral at 27 years old? My mom replied with “you might as well put me in a mental hospital because I couldn’t handle it.”

In the circle of life, us children are suppose to out live our parents and when that doesn’t happen I can only imagine how devastating it is.

Found this in my Gr 9 Year Book! Cathy had the biggest crush on Paul Senra!!

I think it was amazing how many people donated to bring Cathy home and helping lift the burden of funeral costs, and the costs of bring her home off her family so they can focus on them. Its bad enough losing a child its even worse in those sort of circumstances. It really showed just how many people she touched and how many people were supporting her. It was amazing how many people wanted to see her return home where she belonged. 

I will always remember Cathy smiling, and find her next adventure. I hope when I get to the place she is, she can show me the way because I’m sure she’s already explored every avenue of it!!!

Everyone loves you Cathy, rest in peace and I will see yeah at some point. And to her close friends and family, my deepest sympathy goes out to you and I am very sorry about your loss… 

-Christina

~ by Christina Sears on August 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
