Jogging Survival


I have decided to add jogging to my work outs, and I don’t mean on the treadmill I mean hitting the pavement and running. Yesterday was my first time out on a jog in a long time and anyone who knows me knows I HATE running, cardio whatever… I HATE IT! Unless its a race to the ice cream bar I’m useless! I for sure thought this was going to be the most horrible experience of my life, and I really had no faith to make it to my goal on the path (my starting goal)!. 

Not to mention I am pretty sore from my previous workout so I was a little scared. Since I had a jogging buddy I really didn’t want to puke on them, or give up especially since they jog on a regular basis. I guess I was pulling the guys mentality in the sense I didn’t want to look like a “B*%ch.”

They were really nice about it, really trying to motivate me, saying we can go at  good pace and what not, I figured if I’m going to do this I might as well put on my big girl panties and take it seriously. 

We jogged at Bayfront Park in the North end of Hamilton, and our start point was at the gazebo at the beginning of the path that takes you to princess point. MY GOAL was to hopefully just make it to the Dundurn Bridge. I know it may not seem far to you pros, but I haven’t jogged in A LONG ass time and I was pretty worried I wouldn’t even make it there. But having someone to actually jog with who I knew does it all the time and knew had faith in me did go a long way. I did complain about how horrible I felt, and how sore and stiff I was getting but I was just encouraged to press on…. so I had no choice but to keep pushing forward. 

I couldn’t believe I actually MADE IT to the bridge, and I wasn’t in ruff shape like I thought I would be if I made it to my goal distance. I was pretty impressed with myself not going to lie it was a bit of a boost from the rut my scale put me in. 

I kind of stretched a bit made sure I kept moving talked for about 5 minutes or so and thought hell if I made it there my friend and I thought I could probably make it back.. SOOOOO off I went! 

Going back wasn’t too bad until I hit the home stretch, then I noticed how sore I was getting and how tired I was, and how badly I wanted to just STOP! But of course I’m stubborn and wouldn’t allow it until I hit the starting point… and that’s what I did. I felt pretty accomplished not going to lie. I’m sure some of you are reading this thinking “that’s not that far seriously” BUT for me it was a start so I eventually want to make it ALLL the way to princess point and then ALLL the way back. 

I tried to google map the distance…But I don’t know how to get to that point of the trail… ANYONE have any ideas?

I’m going to start hitting up the stairs too, apparently that’s a crazy work out on it’s own. I don’t know if you remember in a few blogs back I was talking about how I was introduced to the stair master? IF it’s anything like that I will probably die! HAHA! BUT like everything it’s a work in progress and I’m looking forward to getting it done.

I weighed myself after my run and I am now 119lbs so 9lbs to go!!! I’m pretty happy about that… 

Christina

 

~ by Christina Sears on August 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
