Wedding Bomb


So many weddings, and so little time! I’m in THREE weddings over the next little while! My cousin Tania and her Fiance Mike are getting married this September, my cousin Alicia and her fiance Carlo are getting married July 2013, and my YOUNGER brother and his Fiance Ida are tying the knot FOUR or so weeks after Alicia.

CRAZY EH! I’m going to have a closet full of bridesmaid dresses, and shoes to match! Anyone who knows me knows doing the “girly things” like finding shoes for dresses, getting my hair did and my nails done are just stressful for me! HA! BUT I love em all and I’m excited for all of them.

I went to Tania’s bachlorette weekend at the cottage this past long weekend, it was interesting! It was different to go away with a bunch of girls, I’ve never really been one to have an entourage of girls that I hang with on a regular basis. I literally have a mini midget handful of girls that I consider friends, and only a few I would spend time with on a regular basis yeah know? So it was different being around a bunch of girls for a few days. But it was a good group of people never a dull moment that’s for sure.

A lot of people have asked me if I feel pressured, or anything considering there are three weddings going to be happening in the next short while and what not, and I can honestly say I’m learning from all of them and I’m really happy that I don’t have to deal with the stress of a wedding NEVER MIND having to be in the mix of all of them together. 

I don’t feel pressured because this is their time, my path is different from theirs and I’m not worried about it. I know that my partner loves me and is committed to me and we have a plan and that’s all I need. I know he wants to spend his life with me as I do him and I am content with that. So I’m not jealous, nor am I envious I’m super excited for them and I wish them all the best. 

A relationship takes a lot of work, a lot of unconditional love, a lot of communication and trust and I wish them so many happy years together!

I have a lot of friends who have got married over the years and have heard people talk about planning weddings, and just talking in general (not directed at anyone so please no one take this the wrong way)!

I feel like, weddings (depending on what your background your coming from) can be stressful on its own. There is always a “structure” on how things “should” be done. You have to do this this way, or that way… I firmly believe that a wedding should represent the couple, everything little detail should scream the couples personalities. I think that’s what makes some of the best weddings. I love going to something and not knowing the person but seeing how everything is done and how it represents them it’s like you’ve known them all your life. 

Tradition is great, and I feel to a degree it should be followed, but nothing is set in stone so it doesn’t “HAVE” to be a certain way, it’s allowed to be tweeked to represent the couple. 

They can be a bit political too, sometimes your told people “have” to be included in your wedding party, but for me I believe the people that should be standing up there with you are people who have been beside you from the beginning. The people who have inspired you in some way, the people who have been at the end of those phone calls in the middle of the night when your a mess. The people who have picked you up when you have fallen and have also drove you to push forward regardless of what was going on in life. I know when I get married those are the people who will be by my side, simply because they have been there up to this point and I feel like it wouldn’t be the same if they weren’t beside me on one of the biggest days of my life.

Some people think a huge price tag attached to your wedding will make it memorable, and outshine everyone around you. I feel its what you make it. I think its stupid to spend 2-10,000 on a dress that your wearing once, stuff like that just boggles my mind. I would rather cut on stupid things like that and put it towards something like my honeymoon, or food, or whatever… Not a dress… But every girl pictures a different day, and wants it her way. I just know whenever my day comes its going to be celebrated with the people I love not the people who “have” to be invited, I will be standing there with the people who  have had my back from day one not the people who “have to be picked”, and when you see the pictures, hear the stories, see the videos, or be there in person every part of my wedding is going to scream “christina & steven.”! 

I wish my family members and my brother the best in the new chapter of their life!!! ITS GOING TO BE ONE HELL OF A PARTY… WAIT I MEAN 3 PARTIES! 🙂

-Christina

~ by Christina Sears on August 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
