She’s an Inspiration


This is Lindsay

I’ve been wondering what to blog about, I’ve been trying to be inspired each day to blog about something that stuck out on that particular day. Whether it be something I read, talked about, over heard, encountered (the lists can go on and on). I guess I’ve just had not much motivation to write, which a lot of you have messaged me and asked me about. I’ve had a few things in mind everyday just never got around to writing them which I promise I will make a point of doing starting with today.

Today I want to talk about someone who I am very close with and met a few years ago. 

I met this girl named Lindsay a few years back and when I met her she was fun, energetic, such an open mind, pretty care free, and just seemed to light up every room she walked into. I really enjoyed talking with her because it was never a dull moment, she was always making me laugh to the point of tears and we had so much in common.

I talked with her all the time and I felt like we were pretty good friends, good enough for me to notice when something was up anyways. But like most people when I asked her what was up she would just reply with “ah nothing” and continue real hard to just be herself. I didn’t want to push because I know I don’t like to be pushed when something was bothering me. I figured when she is good and ready she will talk about it. 

It wasn’t that day, or the day after, HELL it wasn’t that month or that year to be honest. Awhile after she and I were talking and we got on the topic of relationships. I was going through something pretty tough at the time, to the point where i put on a lot of weight because of stress and depression, and had a lot I was dealing with. 

She really tried her best to set whatever it was she was going through a side and help me feel better. But after I was over it we were talking and I was saying how I feel like I had to go through what I did to be stronger, and now that I look at it I came out of the situation with more then what I went in with. 

She started to open up about some things that had been going on which I had no clue, it was pretty bad to the point where I was actually tearing up reading it and responding back to her. 

I mean everyone reacts to a situation differently she tried to be strong for everyone and put herself last. I know what that’s like. I didn’t want to be the friend that just blew smoke out of their ass pretending that there will be a happy ending. 

Lindsey ballooned in weight as a result to everything she was going through, she wasn’t happy, and I could feel that this entire time. 

I offered her the only thing I knew I could and that was my shoulders to lean on, and my dedication as a friend. The friend who isn’t going to pretend that it’s going to be easy, the friend who will tell you the truth, the friend who won’t sugar coat something, the friend who will listen to the situation and give you the “out of box” opinion. 

THIS is HER TRANSFORMATION

I don’t remember exactly what I said to her, but I know I told her how I felt when I was going through what I did. How I was alone (as she was) and crawling on my hands and knees picking up the pieces. I told her that she had to detox from the negative people in her life as a first step to healing and getting better. I have this theory that love is like a drug, and people go through hard break ups because you have this drug everyday all day, for years and years and then one day you have a “bad dose, bad reaction” and that drug gets taken away. And even though your hurt you cant help but crave it and go back to it. From my experience I told her the detox take awhile it just doesn’t happen over night and for everyone its different. It took me five years to get it out of my system enough to see someone else. THEN that someone else just turned around and kicked me in the face. BUT I think it was life’s way of showing me that IF I can go through all of that and still stand on my own two feet at the end of the day then I’m ready for anything. I needed that time to myself to discover my worth, what I am capable of, and knowing that when and if I really want something I have the drive in me to go for it until I got it. 

This is Lindsay's Personality

I know she’ had been really hurt so I told her as much as its going to hurt even more you NEED to cut those people (or that person) who hurt you OUT of your life for you to even breathe. She wanted to feel good about herself, her esteem was grinned down to the bone with nothing left.  I know she wanted to lose the weight as a step to the right direction. I mean Lindz was an athletic outgoing girl, not use to having this little extra to carry around. Not to mention the health risks she was heading too. 

I also gained a lot of weight and all I could say to her is “find your weakness and make it your bitch.” I told her that she’s going to have to want it for it to come off. NO one can do it for her she’s got to put in the work, but reminded her whenever see needed someone to talk to I would obviously be there for her to clear the air. 

We talked a lot more after that, and I always tried to make sure she knew regardless of what I was doing I WAS DETERMINED TO BE THERE WITH HER THROUGH THIS JOURNEY. I wasn’t going to spoon feed her I wanted her to be able to stand on her own two feet and realize that she is in fact stronger then what she thinks. 

I am proud to say that Lindz has fought her way back and has lost 100lbs and has got her weight down to 140lbs. She’s done an amazing job starting fresh and doing it for no one else BUT HERSELF! I think that she’s getting to that point too where she’s almost detoxed she’s just got to cut the cord and know that when she does she will still be standing and she will be able to handle it. 

I can’t express how extremely proud I am of her, and how much love I wish for her in the future.  She’s one of those people that I don’t get to see everyday but I feel just as close to her as I do anyone that is close to me. Its hard to find great girl friends these days and I’m really happy I can say she’s one of the best! 

She’s definitely has inspired me and I’m sure a lot of other people in the process!!!

Continue to move forward, find your weaknesses and make them your bitch and know that NOTHING will stop you when you are standing strong. IF you at anytime feel like your legs are getting tired and you need a break remember I GOT YOUR BACK!

Congrats Lindz!

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on June 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
