Restaurant Rant


Ever since I was in school I always had a job at a restaurant, I felt that the hours were a bit more flexible and it was easy to pick up shifts and what not if need be. I’ve worked in a few restaurants, and have done catering jobs and what not as well. Pretty easy stuff once you get the hang of it.

I don’t understand how people want to get into that industry, I really think its a calling of some sort and kudos to the people who LOVE working in a restaurant but its definitely not the job for me. Don’t get me wrong I love the majority of people I work with minus 2 or 3 people BUT the actual job I can’t stand.

First of all knowing that I spent 12 grand on school and not utilizing anything I went to school for eats me alive. Especially when I’m here waiting on people. I think as a server you come across some of the most ignorant people you’re ever going to meet. You also can meet some interesting characters as well.

Like people are taught about manners, or right from wrong, etc.. I think one of lifes lessons should be manners when you are going out to eat. I’m not saying the server or restaurant is always perfect we are human (remember HUMAN) and we alllll make mistakes. I’m talking about the people who go out and are just so mean and nasty.

Few examples I’ve come across in my years in a restaurant:

1. Serving a party of 30-40 people (who didn’t make a reservation), they are with a hockey team and want to be in and out in an hour. That would be fine and do-able IF they kept their children under control and worked with the server to keep the party organized. BUT instead after 10 minutes go by they are wondering where their food is. Their kids are destroying the place as they sit back and have a few drinks not even paying attention to the noise their kids are making which is disrupting the rest of the restaurant, not noticing the server is running their butt of for refills for your demanding children who were obviously never taught not to drink all their juice or whatever before their meal comes. Then when the server takes the time to separate the bills, on persons paying for someone else’s so then the server had to re-arrange everything that way the payment goes through smoothly. EVERYONE wants change from a crazy high bill.. (sure lets pay a 20.00 bill with a 100.00 bill brutal)! Especially if its in the day time when its not that busy and the server doesn’t have that kind of money for a float…

SO how to fix this: keep your kids under control and help the server keep things organized.. ITS THAT SIMPLE. IF your stuck for time I hear that wendy’s mcdonalds, harvey’s, kfc, etc.. can DO wonders for that! (Just Sayin’)

2. “Needy tables,” a term that is used for a table that no matter what you do you can’t get a head. EVERY TIME you go to that table its something, and nothing serious just a lot of stupid little things. You bring them their drink get their order you bring them their appetizer they want a water (which they never drink), you go back for the water they need napkins, you go back with napkins they need something else and the list goes on and on. THEN at the end of it they seem annoyed AT YOU? YET you just RAN your ass off for one table.

3. Your table goes perfect everything comes out fine, they don’t complain you check ont heir food they love what they are eating etc.. then at the end of it they say “can I see a manager please.” YOU tell your manager you don’t know what it could be, they get to the table and every little thing you did was wrong. Right down to they didn’t like their food YET ate the entire thing… GIVE ME A BREAK! If you can’t afford what you ate maybe you should PRE-EAT before coming so you don’t order as much and then complain in hopes to get something for free.

4. I don’t think picky people should come out to eat. You know the people that pick something off the menu and then change that meal into something completely different then what was on the menu. I can handle one or two items, but changing the entire meal? AND expect not to be charged for the EXTRA things your adding? COME ON?

5. I also find it annoying when your handling A LOT of tables, and its clearly crazy busy in the restaurant everyone is moving fast to satisfy their guests and people are so inconsiderate when I have to go to a table and apologize that its busy and that the food might take a bit longer then usual because the kitchen is a bit backed up and then they roll their eyes at me. IT’S not my fault everything is taking a bit longer, WOULD you rather your food come out half cooked? or not cooked at all?

6. DINE AND DASHERS. I don’t care how much you hated your server, or whatever your reasoning is for D&Ding YOU don’t do it. The biggest fuck you is paying the bill in exact change and leaving nothing for the server… MOST restaurants cover the D&D for  a server so your not really fucking them UNLESS you know 100% that the restaurant makes the server pay the bill. EVEN though thats illegal and not right and they can’t make the server pay some places *cough “the honest lawyer” cough* does.

7. I also hate when people make a huge ass mess at the table and say their bill is 150/160 bucks and they leave like not even enough to cover tip out. OH what’s a tip out.. guess you didn’t know that servers have to give a certain percentage of their tips to the rest of the people working that aren’t serving. SOOOOO if they get no tip then… they make probably nothing that night. I know tipping is an OPTION but come on you make this huge mess and then nothing? That’s kinda brutal.

I noticed working in a restaurant its like being in high school all over again, you have your clicks, you have people who love and thrive on drama, you have people who love to control other people by grabbing then by the balls. If something is happening people on their day off know what’s going on. Usually I try not to make friends at work but there are some people I’ve connected with and love to death they know who they are the other people i tolerate and just treat them the way they treat me. I wouldn’t really call them up out of the blue or anything. Other people I can’t work with but I can hang out with.. it just depends.

What brought this blog about was the other night I was serving a table and they just were so irritating and it made me think of a few points that I wanted to talk about. Restaurant is a stressful job but I got a lot of good things out of it like growing as a person wise. Its not for everyone though and I know its not something I’d like to do for the rest of my life UNLESS I was doing some marketing for it or something. Event planning stuff like that I enjoy but its also what I went to school for. Like its good for those in school, helps pay things and keep a float. I don’t know how people work there and have families sometimes because its not like you get solid hours every week, ur there if its busy if its not your going home. You can’t rely on the tips (well depending what restaurant I guess)…

Thanks for reading my little restaurant rant! haha

Christina

 

~ by Christina Sears on January 19, 2011.

5 Responses to “Restaurant Rant”

  1. Great read as always. There’s a couple points I wanted to touch on though.

    Busy vs Waiting for Food: I think most customers live in a bubble when it comes to this aspect and I’ll be honest in saying I don’t blame them. As a customer I don’t think it’s their responsibility to understand what’s powering the service (both server and cooking staff) any more than any other service. More staff on either end would seem to be the best option. How are schedules set up? Does your restaurant have like… a forecast as to busy periods? I personally don’t go to restaurants if I’m in a rush but there’s a fine line between a long wait and “what’s going on here?”

    Tip Out: This is a tough spot. I understand tip out after having dated servers and bartenders over the years and set my base tip at 20% for that exact reason. That being said though, it’s tough to put a customer in a position where gratuity no longer becomes and option but an obligation because of a system set up by the venue. I’ve argued this point to death before on forums as I think the system itself needs an overhaul rather than putting it on the customer. I’d love to get your insight on it as I’m on the outside looking in.

    Going to ask something not covered here from a customer side. What exactly causes “collision?” It’s the term I use when we order apps and they come out late only to have entrees come out like… 2 minutes later? It’s easily my biggest restaurant piss off and I’ve never understood how this happens so regularly.

    Like

  2. “2. “Needy tables,” a term that is used for a table that no matter what you do you can’t get a head. EVERY TIME you go to that table its something, and nothing serious just a lot of stupid little things. You bring them their drink get their order you bring them their appetizer they want a water (which they never drink), you go back for the water they need napkins, you go back with napkins they need something else and the list goes on and on. THEN at the end of it they seem annoyed AT YOU? YET you just RAN your ass off for one table.”

    There are problems with this that have to do with servers A LOT of times.

    First off, you TRY to ask for things ALL AT ONCE, many of them are TOO LAZY TO **WRITE THEM DOWN**, that includes refills, to-go boxes, to-go cups, the check, extra napkins, etc.

    Secondly, I have experienced where servers ask ONE person at the table and leave without giving a chance for others to say they want something. It’s not MY FAULT YOU ran off when I COULD have said I wanted something TOO!!

    Thirdly, extra napkins is something that you should be bringing without having to request that. That’s basic stuff. Kind of like utensils. I shouldn’t have to ask for that type of stuff.

    Fourthly, HELP YOURSELF, for example, some people order water or water with lemon with an alcoholic drink, ASK the customer “Would you like water” “Would you like lemon as well” “Need any extra lemon”.

    Fifthly, BE OBSERVANT, maybe they aren’t thinking about what they need at the time due to being in a conversation, so *YOU* can ask THEM if they would need refills.

    Sixthly, Ask if the customers would like refills without being asked. This way, you get refills to just about everyone that looks like they need another.

    Seventh, common sense would tell you that if you ask me about dessert, ask me about boxes, the check, a bag, to-go cups, etc. There’s no need to make a separate trip for the check, a separate trip for the box, etc. YOU MADE that happen if you didn’t ask ALL people at once. Now, if they decided later they needed something, that’s not your fault, but at least you can TRY.

    So quit blaming us, because I try to ask for things at once, but lazy servers don’t write things down to try to remember them nor do they ask everyone at the table if they need something.

    “4. I don’t think picky people should come out to eat. You know the people that pick something off the menu and then change that meal into something completely different then what was on the menu. I can handle one or two items, but changing the entire meal? AND expect not to be charged for the EXTRA things your adding? COME ON?”

    I don’t think LAZY ASS SERVERS LIKE YOURSELF SHOULD BE A SERVER IF YOU **DON’T WANT TO ******WORK****** FOR YOUR MONEY!!

    I can order things the way **I** want them since I should get what ***I*** want for ***MY*** money. Don’t you HONESTLY want what **YOU** want for ***YOUR*** money, huh? That includes the service that the server should be WANTING to make sure you are happy, so then we will make you happy at the end with a good tip. You make us not happy, we have every right to treat you the same way back in the pocketbook where it hurts the most.

    It’s YOUR JOB to do the things the customer wants. You are at their mercy, not the other way around if you want a good tip.

    You sound so LAZY ASS to say we should stay home.

    I don’t expect to be charged if I haven’t been charged before in the pasts, which is a normal assumption if the place never charged for example for condiments, not all of sudden if you want ranch that doesn’t come with the meal, they charge you. If it’s something like an extra side dish, OF COURSE I expect to pay more.

    I don’t expect to pay more if you didn’t get my order right for things that are YOUR FAULT. Think about it, if the restaurant charges for extra ranch, I ordered that with my meal, being considerate. You end up forgetting it when you could have easily brought it out ahead of time to avoid that. WHY do you feel you should still charge me? You should be asking your manager to COMP the ranch since it’s not a lot of money even, like 50 cents or so or even pay for it yourself. You want our forgiveness in the tip, don’t charge us if you forget something like that. I shouldn’t be charged if you forgot or gave me the wrong side dish for example. WHY should I? YOU MESSED UP, YOU should MAKE-UP for it through monetarily if you want forgiveness money wise.

    “6. DINE AND DASHERS.”

    I have NEVER and WILL NEVER DO THAT!! That’s stealing!! This one I will agree with, because it’s not right to steal.

    “7. I also hate when people make a huge ass mess at the table and say their bill is 150/160 bucks and they leave like not even enough to cover tip out. OH what’s a tip out.. guess you didn’t know that servers have to give a certain percentage of their tips to the rest of the people working that aren’t serving. SOOOOO if they get no tip then… they make probably nothing that night. I know tipping is an OPTION but come on you make this huge mess and then nothing? That’s kinda brutal.”

    First off, I don’t do this, but I will say that most people don’t know about tip outs.

    Secondly, if the customers have left already, they have PAID FOR THEIR SERVICE, that cleaning up is AFTER the service, so it doesn’t count as PART of the tip. THE SERVICE IS OVER WITH. Do you HONESTLY care about what happens AFTER you have left a restaurant? I pay for what I receive, not for what I don’t receive just as any SMART person would. WHY would anyone pay for services not received, huh? Cleaning up after we have left is just that, AFTER the service is OVER WITH!!

    Thirdly, if the service sucked, WHO GIVES A FUCK if you have to clean up? WHY should anyone care about you that you didn’t care about them, huh? Caring is a 2-way street.

    “5. I also find it annoying when your handling A LOT of tables, and its clearly crazy busy in the restaurant everyone is moving fast to satisfy their guests and people are so inconsiderate when I have to go to a table and apologize that its busy and that the food might take a bit longer then usual because the kitchen is a bit backed up and then they roll their eyes at me. IT’S not my fault everything is taking a bit longer, WOULD you rather your food come out half cooked? or not cooked at all?”

    Sometimes though the server is at fault for your food getting delayed.

    1. Putting in the order wrong

    2. Forgetting to get the food or parts of the food.

    3. Forgetting to put in the order.

    4. Bringing it out with obvious mistakes wrong that the server didn’t have to touch to notice the mistake.

    5. If you are triple or double sat, did you go after each table to go put in the orders or did you hold them in your hand to put them all in at once into the computer? If you did hold them all on the paper before putting them in, YOU have caused the customers to wait longer for their food, NOT ANYONE ELSE!! The longer you wait to put in orders, the longer the kitchen staff doesn’t know about the orders, the longer the food takes, REGARDLESS of HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE THERE OR NOT, because PART of how long we wait for things DOES include WHEN the server puts in the order, if they put in the order right, and what they bring out.

    You sound SO LAZY ASS to say that you feel it’s annoying. GO FIND ANOTHER JOB AND QUIT FUCKING COMPLAINING! NO ONE MADE YOU BE A SERVER, DID THEY?

    “EVERYONE wants change from a crazy high bill.. (sure lets pay a 20.00 bill with a 100.00 bill brutal)!”

    All customers SHOULD want their change. That’s part of your job. YOU SOUND SO LAZY ASS!! Part of the JOB is to get change. You shouldn’t be asking. You should be EXPECTING to get the change. That’s part of why you get your tip, because that’s part of the service.

    While I understand, that is hard to get 30 people’s change, just know you are getting PAID to do this if you gave good service otherwise if the customers aren’t cheap.

    They have every right to pay like that if the restaurant accepts high bills like that and you should EXPECT it.

    EARN YOUR TIP and QUIT BEING LAZY!! The tip is not OWED to you, you **EARN** IT!! Quit being so uncaring about if customers are picky or not. I am pretty sure you don’t like certain things, right? Should the customer get the food, drinks, and service the way **THEY** want it to go for **THEIR** money?

    “or right from wrong, etc.”

    Right from wrong is to not expect payment for services not received. That means that if I didn’t receive service, I shouldn’t have to pay for that, should I? That would be stealing from me, now wouldn’t it be?

    “I also hate when people make a huge ass mess at the table and say their bill is 150/160 bucks and they leave like not even enough to cover tip out.”

    It’s not OUR issue first off that you have to tip out. Remember, **WE ARE TIPPING YOU**, NOT the busser. Secondly, if the customers have left, WTF should they give a flying fuck about what goes on **AFTER** they have left a restaurant? I don’t care WHO cleans or IF it EVER gets cleaned up, because I have LEFT. THE SERVICE I PAID FOR IS OVER WITH!! You are stupid, you really are for customers to consider what YOU have to pay another employee even if it was in our service, which it’s not. That’s YOUR ISSUE, NOT OURS that you have to tip out. We aren’t tipping the busser, YOU ARE, so that’s YOUR ISSUE!! That’s not our problem. Quit being so fucking ass selfish and lazy!!

    Like

  3. awe yes! the hate mail! 🙂

    Check out my response at: https://ladyjag.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/you-got-hate-mail/

    Like

  4. fats
    “You are unbelievable”

    You are that you want to be uncaring and lazy on the job. Anyone that DOES forget things without writing it down is lazy that they didn’t ********TRY*********** to remember what was asked for.

    “then toss it away, cause it’s all a bunch of crap”

    HOW if it improves the customer’s service that you provide them by NOT forgetting things as often, huh? HOW is that “a bunch of crap” to say TRY your best to remember by writing it down, huh?

    YOU ARE REALLY LAZY!!

    “I have been doing my job for a very long time and have been very successful and I will continue to be successful despite people like you.”

    HOW are you “successful” if you FORGET things when you don’t write things down, huh? That’s not being successful is it that let’s say you got a 15% tip, you COULD have had a 20% tip you idiot, that’s how LAZY ASS you are not to want to ****EARN***** the MOST MONEY YOU CAN MAKE and to actually *****CARE******* about someone else’ besides your lazy ass tired feet.

    “Whether I write every word down or I don’t that doesn’t make me lazy or uncaring that is just how it goes,”

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/lazy

    Read the definition of lazy:

    “not inclined to work or exertion”

    That means you aren’t WILLING to WRITE DOWN THINGS, that means you aren’t willing to do MORE WORK.

    Definition of uncaring:

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/uncaring

    “couldn’t care less, could not care less; be completely unconcerned”

    This means you aren’t concerned with someone’s time or feelings that you forget their stuff or got something wrong.

    NO, that’s not how it goes. It DOES make you lazy if you are a FORGETFUL person that YOU ADMITTED YOU ARE. You said I quote:

    “I have forgotton on more that one occasion their condiments, their coffee”

    Being that you have admitted you do this, shows you NEED to write things down, because I bet on those occasions, at least one or all of them, you didn’t even *******TRY********* to remember the things that were ordered by that you didn’t WRITE THOSE REQUESTS DOWN, am I right?

    Even if you did, you are a forgetful person, so shouldn’t that tell you that you need to start *****CARING****** if you make someone pissed off or not by forgetting something they asked for? WHY be so GOD DAMN LAZY? WHY don’t you care about anyone else besides yourself?

    It makes you lazy and uncaring, because you haven’t *****TRIED***** your ***VERY, VERY BEST AND THE MOST THAT YOU CAN TRY TO GET THINGS RIGHT. It makes you lazy, because just as the bitch waitress that forgot my dr. pepper in one of the posts I wrote, she didn’t CARE if she got things right and she didn’t TRY HER BEST TO REMEMBER WHAT THE FUCK I SAID. SHE DIDN’T TRY AND YOU DON’T EITHER!!

    It makes you lazy that you aren’t wiling to at least give it a TRY to remember something. It makes you lazy, because you don’t care if you aren’t willing to try.

    You have to care about the customer in order for the customer to care as much or at all about your tip.

    “go out and do this job, please then you will have a different perspective on my job, really.”

    NO, YOU will have a different perspective if YOU go out to eat more often and be a customer with PROBLEMS at your table, TIME AND TIME AND TIME AND TIME AGAIN that your server was TOO LAZY ASS AND UNCARING TO GIVE A SHIT ABOUT WHAT THEY BROUGHT YOU OR IF THEY FORGOT SOMETHING THAT THEY DIDN’T WRITE IT DOWN OR HAVE TO COME BACK TO YOUR TABLE TO ASK “DID YOU SAY LETTUCE AND TOMATOES ONLY”(this really happened to a stupid waiter that didn’t write any of my food order down and neither my husband’s food either).

    When it’s YOUR FOOD, YOUR TIME, AND YOUR MONEY, you have a VERY DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE when serving the public, because YOU know what it’s LIKE to get the wrong food or your refill forgotten or an overcharged price on your check.

    I would STILL serve the way I preach. I would do EVERY SINGLE THING in my power to make sure the stuff was correct to the table. I would write EVERY SINGLE THING DOWN. I would verify all the things I wrote down. I would verify the check prices as well as the check itself for errors, etc. I would act like that’s **ME** in the customer’s seat, you don’t. I would not be lazy and uncaring like you. I would be very caring and a GO-GETTER!!

    “As of right now I will not responed to your rants again because they are just out there,”

    That’s because you want to have to last say and that isn’t going to happen. You aren’t right. Lazy is purposely deciding not to do an action.

    “you have no concept of what I do, all you think is that I stand there with a pen and paper and write down your order go to the kitchen pick it up serve you and give you your ticket as you say, well your wrong, there is more to it”

    I know this already, but the most important thing is to GET THINGS CORRECT if you can. THAT is WHY we tip you. It’s not just to take our order and get us things. It’s to get things RIGHT. THAT’S WHAT MAKES A GOOD SERVER, TO AVOID MISTAKES. One good way to avoid forgetting is to write things down. It helps, WHY are you not willing to do that being that you admitted you are forgetful, huh? WHY BE THAT LAZY? WHY BE THAT UNCARING ABOUT OTHERS? You call that “LOVE”, NO WAY IN HELL IS THAT LOVE, that’s LAZINESS AND BEING EXTREMELY UNCARING. Just like the definition, “couldn’t care less”, well that’s how you are treating the customers that you couldn’t care less if you remember what they said, because you CHOSE to be too lazy to write things down they said. THINK ABOUT IT..

    It’s not just “it’s just what it is”, because that really shows how you just don’t care if you forget someone’s coffee or condiments. That’s so mean. WHY be that way? WHY not TRY YOUR BEST to TRY, that’s all I ask, WRITE IT DOWN to at least TRY to get it right.

    “rest of the assholes like yourself”

    LOOK IN THE MIRROR, because I am a ***CARING**** person, unlike yourself that doesn’t care if you forget someone’s coffee or condiments, because you aren’t willing to write things down. You call that “LOVE”, that’s the 100% OPPOSITE of love, that’s being selfish and uncaring is what it is.

    YOU are the asshole that needs to look at your SELFISH AND LAZY SELF!! You aren’t a caring person at all, but then want people to care about that you only make $2.13/hr, right? Caring is a 2-way street, not a 1-way street.

    Like

  5. So…funny thing. I just got comment spammed by the same person with much of the same content you did.

    Fortunately, I also found that the same person has been doing it on multiple sites.

    It’s sad that they are so bent and obviously feel a little too strongly about services responsibility, especially when they’ve never done anything more than host in a restaurant…

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
