First Day Back in 3.5 Months!!!


So, as you can tell from my lack of blog posts I obviously haven’t been training much in the last few months. For a few reasons one.. just had no drive to really be at Crossfit.. and put my heart into what I was doing… Then I couldn’t make it to jiu jitsu much because I was working a lot for my trip, then it was the trip itself. I lost all together since July probably 15lbs or so… I’m almost back down to my original weight ONLY i’m not like skinny and sick looking. In some of my trip pictures i still look like I was lifting and doing other things ONLY at the weight I should be. When I was looking at them, it really gave me the drive to do things on my own terms, without someone yelling at me or making me feel like I should always be doing better. When I look at everything I accomplished in the gym I have a lot of people to think BUT I wasn’t happy which is why I think I gained a lot of the weight. I mean there is no way someone who works out 3xs a    week… 3xs a day can look at chubby as I did… It was probably my body telling me something was wrong. My eating habits HAVEN’T changed at all so, it wasn’t due to over eating or eating junk.

BUT I feel good… and confident, I’ve never been so gym confident before. When I went to the gym years ago, I always felt like everyone knew what they were doing… and I had no clue I was definitely one of those “I’m going to go do cardio and leave” kinda people… BUT now I know how to do things, what works with what, how to use machines and what not…. SO I’m pretty confident alone.

SO yesterday… I went to the gym at 6ish which is normally a rush hour for there, but it was all the cardio stuff that everyone was using, so I decided to get back to my lifting. I knew it was going to be a kick in the nuts to see where I was at and then now where I am.  So I got my lifting book out and wrote what my warm up sets were going to be and then decided to see how heavy I could go before I start to struggle and if its hard then I will stay there and work on that for a week. Then the following week add a few more pounds and work from there…

SO… I did:

Squat:

45lbs x5 (warm up set)

65lbs x5 (warm up set)

85lbs x5 (warm up set)

115lbs x5 (working set)

115lbs x5 (working set)

115lbs x5 (working set)

HONESTLY 115lbs felt good, like I could probably go to 130 or so actually but I didn’t have a spotter, and I didn’t want to take the chance I get tired at the last set and then have no one to help me out. SO until I get a regular gym partner or someone I trust behind me I’ll stick to what I know i’ll have problems with but can still make it up. But going from 190lbs working set to 115lbs was a real kick in the ass. HOWEVER I got the same looks as I did at Alchemy from the women (and some guys) the ones who appreciate how things work obviously know how the ball rolls. Like at Alchemy.. u get kudos for doing crazy shit, but everyone is still fairly supportive because Crossfit is hard, and anyone who can finish a work out should feel accomplished. Were at a gym I noticed I had looks because I was 4’10 at a free weight squat rack loading up the weights and going to town… Some of the women that were in the lifting area were with a personal trainer doing like 5lbs dumbbell work outs, or with their bf’s just giggling and what not.. which has never been me… If I’m at a gym i’m there to train and be serious. I think the only time I giggled away was between my heavy lifting sets when I was at crossfit just acting like a dork singing and what not.. but its what I do to relieve stress and pressure… (Like Ellen hahaha)! I find it weird to look in the mirror at the gym (even when i’m doing my martial arts training). BUT When i was looking in the mirror I noticed just how many people look at you and look at them self when they walk by anything that reflects. Kind of funny.

So I did Dead Lifts (YES BY MY SELF I KNOW)! Normally someone has to force me to do them like a parent forcing their kid to have cold syrup. BUT I did them on my own! I worked my dead up to 145lbs before I stopped lifting. Doesn’t seem like much but for someone who sprained their back, believe me it was quite an accomplishment. But obviously since I haven’t been in the gym for three  months or a bit more then that I knew it was going to kick my ass.

Deadlift:

45lbs x5 (warm up set)

65lbs x5 (warm up set)

85lbs x5 (warm up set)

115lbs x5 (working set)

115lbs x5 (working set)

115lbs x5 (working set)

I also did strict press, haha man.. that one was another kick in the nuts, going from 90lbs when I stopped to 65lbs was brutal. But again its a work in progress and all the great ones have fallen at some point and picked them selves back up so why can’t I?

Press:

45lbs x5 (warm up set)

45lbs x5 (warm up set)

65lbs x 5 ( working set)

65lbs x 5 (working set)

65lbs x 5 (working set)

After my lifting I saw that I had a bit of time left so I looked for a short crossfit work out I could probably pull off… So I decided to do Cindy. Found a pull up bar, of course me being a midget i had to really climb to get the bar (but whatever)! I didn’t think I would still be able to do kipping pull ups but I did… which is awesome…

So I did

5 – pull ups

10 push ups

15 squats

as many rounds as possible for 10 minutes (instead of 20 min)!

When I was done even going into the change room I could feel the pain setting in, normally I’m not this sore until 2 days later. BRUTAL!

I went into the Sauna to just relax… but being sick I couldn’t be in there long becuase my nose started to go and I felt like crap.. so stayed in there for maybe 5-6 minutes and jetted home.

I’m going again probably friday in the day and then hopefully later that night head to edges… see everyone!!! Miss them!!! 🙂

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on January 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “First Day Back in 3.5 Months!!!”

  1. hey tina, loved the blog .. u made me laugh when u said u were doing somehting at the gym that u really hate to do and u said it was like having a mother give there child cough medicine …haha loved it .. ur an awesome writer … keep it going … i love u with all my heart xxoxox

    Like

  2. Wow, I loved reading this. I’m going to be living vicariously through you, cuz I can’t do any of that. Ohh I know what you mean when you say its a kick in the ass…not being in the same place as you used to. Like personally going from 100 barbell squat do 10 pound dumbells cuz your back is gonna give out. But we are human and you gotta go with what your body is telling you.
    So congrats. You obviously love lifting, and are constantly exploring and having fun. You’ll get back to 190 in no time!
    You know, being there gives you such a high, and broken bones and all, I’ll never give it up, and I know you wont either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
