Frank Trigg


frank-triggDoing a lot of MMA Reporting, I get to meet a lot of interesting people. Some I would like to say have changed some aspect of my life just by something they said, or did, or whatever and others have let me see the dark side of my job as well.

But I’ve had more good experiences then bad so I’m truly lucky. I’ve had people want to help me, and I guess see what i represent and never have made me feel like I’m not good enough. I have been able to live through the stories of others, and learn lessons that I can pass on to those I train with and know as well!

I try not to mix business with pleasure but a lot of these people are so hard not to befriend. And its not so much for bragging rights or to name drop, its because i legitimately like talking to them, I see them for who they are and what they represent.

This past weekend Frank Trigg fought in the UFC against Josh Koscheck, this was Trigg’s first fight in the UFC in four years. A lot of you who have followed me in my little journey know that Frank and I have a friendship, I respect him as a man, as a fighter, as a father and family man, and he’s really been a person in my life I look up to.

So needless to say this weekend not being able to watch the fight kind of bothered me, but when I read the update that he lost due to TKO it really made me angry. Maybe angry isn’t the best word, but I really wanted things to work out for him.

Some people I use to be close to probably sat near the screen saying “FUCK I KNEW IT WHAT AN IDIOT” BUT honestly…. I think that guys like Trigg and Couture and Liddell should get more credit then what they do sometimes when they step in there and fight. These guys are getting in there in their late 30’s and 40’s and fighting a younger, hungry generation of fighters.

I read a lot of interviews going into this Koscheck fight, and a lot of people send me messages some good some bad… the bad ones saying they don’t know why he’s bothering, Koscheck’s going to be to much for him etc…

Which sort of bothered me only because like Trigg said in an interview people don’t really know who he is.. he had his run in the UFC before it hit mainstream. So he was the underdog going into this fight. People didn’t know he’s still been fighting outside the UFC and has been around for a number of years. I mean I knew OF HIM but knowing who he’s fought and his career couldn’t tell you because I never followed it. I got to know Frank Trigg as a media personality first and as a fighter second.8866-KoscheckTrigg

Going into this fight Trigg said something that not very many fighters admit to (young or old) and he said

“I want to get another run,” he said. “I’ve always kind of been a failure. Everything I’ve ever done, I’ve kinda failed. I’m with my third wife, so I’ve had two failed marriages. I had two title runs in the UFC and I failed at both attempts. I tried for two Olympic Games and I failed at both of those attempts. I tried to win the national title in junior college and in Division I, and failed at those attempts. If you look at everything, I’m more of a failure than I am a success. That’s kinda what drives me. Because I haven’t quite made the top end yet, I said ‘why don’t I give myself one more run?’ All the best guys on the entire planet, minus maybe one or two guys, are in the UFC’s welterweight division. If I’m gonna do this, let’s just do it. Let’s not screw around. I’m gonna quit riding on my mouth, and I’m gonna go ahead and see if I’m as good as I think I am and as good as I say I am. Let’s find out. I’m gonna put myself in the heat of the kitchen and find out if I’m any good.”

You may not be a fan of Frank Trigg, but that is one of the most honest answers I’ve ever heard. SURE maybe I’m bias because I like the guy, he’s a “media mentor” to me someone I go to to pick their brain about training, and working out and life in general. BUT I mean to sit there and tell a billion people who will probably read this interview at some point that you were never good at anything and how you always failed but still want to owe it to yourself to at least try to run again… like? That means a lot.

On MMA connected he even said that he’s old, and yeah will be the underdog in this fight.. he didn’t bash Koscheck he just did his thing.

Any fighter can win or lose on any given day… REGARDLESS of their stats and status, eventually they lose… LOOK at Hughes, once upon a time the most dominate welterweight now people are itching for him to retire, Liddell the man who is known to knock out most of his opponents.. the ice man… and he fell and people want him to retire, one day Anderson will lose… and I’m sure people will start their chatter and jump onto the next bandwagon… its a vicious cycle.

You may not like fighters like Frank Trigg but I’ve got the pleasure to get to know the guy… as I have other fighters. And I’m very fortunate they treat me like a person and not like a fan, or part of the media. I know Frank trained for this fight.. and it’s got to be disappointing that it didn’t go his way.

OBVIOUSLY rumors have started that he could possibly be cut from the UFC after that loss, which the UFC is great at, cutting guys… I know business is business and they want the winners in their organization its understandable.

BUT for the record… regardless of where Frank Trigg ends up its not going to change the way I feel about him or him as a fighter. I would do a seminar with the guy in a heart beat because he’s been around, he knows the game (regardless of his record). And I’m sure I can learn a lot from him.

ufc103I feel bad things didn’t go his way, considering he shut down his clothing line to focus on fighting, he’s got a wonderful family and three kids. He’s got a lot going on and I think it would have been nice to see his hand raised.

I guess the point of this email is just to say I’m glad he got the chance to fight in the UFC again, and I’m hoping I get to at least see him fight again in the UFC (if they will have him on a card). BUT most of all regardless where he ends up, or what he decides to do he will always be someone I will look up to, and regardless of how people talk or what they write its not going to change my opinion of the guy.

He’s helped me along my career and has really gave me a good look at what I want to be working on in training. I’ve always been able to go to him for advice about anything and I appreciate that he keeps tabs on how I’m doing. I appreciate him wanting to give the UFC another run, and I respect that he went out there and did what he could do. I just wish those “keyboard” warriors could have a bit more respect…. BUT I guess it comes with the territory right?

Trigg, honestly dude… keep doing what your doing like I heard in a movie once

“The world aint all sunshine and rainbows, its a very mean and nasty place and i dont care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there if you let it. you me or nobody will hit as hard as life. But it aint about how hard you can hit its about how much you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. THATS how winning is done. If you know what your worth then go out and get what your worth but you have to be willing to take the hits and not point fingers because you aint where you wanna be because of him or her or anybody…. cowards do that.. and that AINT you.. YOUR better then that”

Cheers to your next fight… whoever it maybe… where ever it maybe… Good Luck…

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on September 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
