Week 5 Begins…


I started week 5 of the meat head challenge today, its totally getting harder as the weeks go on to up the weight a bit every week. I find I have to be in a good mental place to just make myself believe that I can lift this weight, but if I’m thinking about something, or I’m tired, or stressed I find it hard to get to that confident place in my head.

Which is what happened today, I’ve been thinking about a lot of stuff, and some people and today I was just not myself, I was tired and frustrated and really didn’t feel like lifting or being in the gym at all. But knew I couldn’t afford to miss another day. You miss a day at the gym when you’re on a routine and it really messes you up and you have to recover from that ONE day… and I can’t afford to work my way back up with this challenge.

I learned how to snatch today, pretty interesting yet confusing movement, I would probably just have to get in there and do the thing to get it down. At the end of the lifting Adam wanted everyone to do “heavy fran” I was doing the rest of my lifts for the meat head challenge. There was a new woman out she’s a national champion in Olympic lifting… and owns her own gym in Cayuga. She was pretty jacked I guess she did some body building just for shits and giggles too. Super strong lady kind of intimidating a little to be honest. I mean she was warming up her squat with like 185lbs? WARM UP? Ha-ha that’s crazy I’m doing 175 for 5… not even a warm up…

But whatever I tried not to be intimidated because she’s a professional athlete who has a huge head start on me, and has been doing it for years but I was in awe to watch that’s for sure.

Today I did:

Squat – 175lbs (3 working sets of 5)

Strict Press – 85lbs (3 working sets of 5)

Dead Lift – 115lbs (3 working sets of 5)

I didn’t up the weight on anything except for my dead lift, because I missed Friday’s lifting and it’s weird how uncomfortable I was with upping the weight with out testing the waters first. My Squat felt heavy probably because mentally I wasn’t there I was ready to crazy… and my press was brutal too I should have done better, but I did complete my sets… probably wouldn’t have if I didn’t have coach Marini in my ear telling me to push through it

My dead lift is coming along nicely… I’m pretty happy with the progression I will be doing crazy weight in no time flat.

The power lifter came up to me and asked me if I was training for the crossfit total… and I said no… she was like “well your doing all the lifts” and then coach marini butted in and was like “she’s doing it…” lol I was shocked she came up to me.. It was a big class of people yeah know? THEN she made a comment about my traps being big ha-ha I think that’s a compliment?

Anyways… next lifting day is Wednesday

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on June 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
