MMA in Ontario… It’s a Shame…


By: Christina Sears

searstina@hotmail.com

When a rare pie is baked, at first everyone turns their nose up at it, gives excuses why they don’t want to give it a chance. And then someone comes along and doesn’t really think about it and cuts a slice of this pie no one wanted a part of and enjoyed it, and told everyone how great it was so then everyone else tries it and ends up loving it. Next thing you know they are fighting over how to make it, when really they should WORK together and see what they can do as a group.

Being in MMA Media I get to come across many different kinds of people, many promotions, many stores, many fighters, and other media people. And like everyone I’ve trusted some people and have had it blow up in my face (but that’s how you learn, and it’s how you develop thick skin). However, the bigger MMA grows the more everyone and their mother wants a piece of this booming sport.

I’m sure professional fighters come across those people who just wish they could be famous, and how can you do that you can pull a Paris Hilton and be famous with simply association. “I know this person, oh I train here etc…” and I feel bad for those fighters because they really have to keep themselves tight to a small group of people they can say they trust (as do most athletes I’m sure). And then fans wonder why some of these fighters can come off as ass holes really think about what got them to be the way they are? In my MMA reporting I always make sure that I ask the questions obviously that people would be interested in hearing, but also I love telling a fighters story, letting their words, experiences, and who they are tell the story. They aren’t supermen (although I think most of them wish they were), they are normal humans, they live normal lives, they have families they have to support, and they have a job to do. THEY just happen to be in a spot light which lets the entire world look in on them. Their life is on display… all the time; it’s like a 24 hour reality show.

THEN you have those promoters who start these events, and it doesn’t matter if its legal or not they will do what they want, make it look legit, sell as many tickets as they can, and throw in whatever fighters are willing to fight, and that’s that. WHEN you throw an event no matter where it is, legal or not it’s a shame that these guys/girls don’t see the bright picture. THEY don’t see that even though they may not be a big organization some how they will be talked about, people will be looking in on their fight cards. SO make sure every ‘T” is crossed and every “I” is dotted because people who put on these events really have a hand in representing Mixed Martial Arts properly. I know its about money because its business HOWEVER, I still feel that there should be some kind of quality in what they produce because word of mouth travels a lot faster then some fancy advertisement.

You have people who can’t fight, so the next best thing in some cases is be a manager, they talk a big talk but can’t walk the walk. They must think they are some kind of high roller, and it erks me managers who charge their fighters stupid amounts of money to be their manager. ANY FIGHTER who has a head in his brain is more then capable of managing themselves. The key (in my experiences and from what I’ve seen) is you have to put yourself out there. You have to work your ass off, put on a good fight, and market yourself. Write blogs, have a website, YouTube is FREE advertising people. Email and call local papers, websites, sell yourself, sell your story. I think fighters know better then managers what they want, they don’t have to think about what they want and then relate it to someone else, they can think it and then DO for themselves. Fighters work extremely hard at what they do, countless hours in the gym, diet, sacrifices with family and friends, and whatever else. WHY would someone want part of a purse you worked so hard for and WHY would you want to give it to them when I’m sure a lot of what they are doing you could have done yourself?

Another thing that bothers me is that MMA is ILLEGAL in the province of ONTARIO. Everyone bitches and complains and tries to start up something on their own (which is fine to each their own). HOWEVER, I don’t care who you are or what your roll is here in Ontario in regards to MMA everyone SHOULD be helping the sport. There are a few name stores, events, hell even fighters spread all around Ontario and yet they fight with each other because of MONEY and what not. I mean, again I understand about running a business and I understand competition believe me I know it better then anyone especially being in a MEDIA job where people who are running their own news outlets, or fantasy sites, or what have you are getting where they want to go and I paid 12000 to get a piece of paper to say “well Christina Sears is qualified.”  BUT it bugs me when I hear people preach about how most people are in it for the money and they aren’t helping the sport and what have you.

It bugs me because the people saying these things are no different, ONTARIO like other places where MMA is not legal should have people who are well known helping out the situation. It’s great when fighters come to Canada, better yet in Ontario we are known to be some of the best fans through the entire world and I think that’s something as Canadians we should be proud of. I don’t understand why when a fighter is coming in its about who’s the highest bidder when quite frankly I think that the more fighters we get to Canada, the more we stay firm that MMA will be legal, its what the people want. I don’t understand why people fight like cats and dogs when we can all work together. Two heads are always better then one. I attended a meet and greet not to long ago, and honestly people were treated well and got their money’s worth. In Ontario its obviously cold and in the winter we can tell from one day to the next what the weather is going to be like, so these people took the time to take that into consideration they had a tent, they had food, hot coffee, gift bags for every person who came out, people had a chance to talk with the fighter, get pictures, autographs sometimes 2 or 3 items. They weren’t rushed or forced though.

It would be great to see more and more of these stores co-promoting events with each other that way if you can’t make it to one location you have another option. BUT people are too wrapped up in who’s going to be the highest bidder, I’ve realized that there are a lot of liars, and people who will step on anyone to get higher up in the mma food chain, and for what? To feel like a high roller?

It makes me crazy to think people in Ontario especially are fighting with each other, someone once told me that competition could be fun, it doesn’t matter who you are most people can see through an act, and when they do they are going to go where they feel like they are being treated well. And it’s true I see it and hear about it all the time I think competition can be fun, and I believe if people have contacts they should also use them for the good of the sport and representing it in Ontario.

It’s like boxing VS MMA… BOTH started out the same, both being looked at as too violent, to much cock fighting, etc… BOTH have fought and are fighting in some cases for acceptance and it’s a shame that they can’t work together hand and hand somehow. There is a rival between them, who can bring in the most money, which is a more legit “man” sport. Like come on? Both sports have had some great inspirational people pass by since the beginning and I’m sure those people didn’t work this hard to have the new generation crash it into the ground.

ANYTIME I interview a famous fighter, or talk to all these people I meet it humbles me. It humbles me because there is something that these people are going to leave with me that I will take with me through life. It doesn’t have to be something huge but it will be something and I’ve made a lot of friends along my journey thus far.

I guess the point to this entire thing is I’m amazed at how many people would step on anyone to make a quick dollar. WHEN in reality they can work together and maybe get Ontario on the ball with helping get it legalized. EVERYONE plays a part in this, so before you point fingers, really look at yourself and start there first. I know I’m trying to do my part, I just wish other people would do the came.

Christina

NOTE: This entry wasn’t written to offend anyone, or attack anyone, its just my observations.. and my feelings on some of the stuff going on. If your offended i’m sorry it wasn’t my intention…

~ by Christina Sears on January 9, 2009.

8 Responses to “MMA in Ontario… It’s a Shame…”

  1. hey tina!! I like this one! Your right we should be working together towards a cause, we have enough reasons to be divided from each other, I support the athletes who are professionals and display an image of what mma and good sportsmanship is all about.

    hopefully we can see eye to eye on this and start moving forwards, at least I know that would benefit us in more ways then one.

    p.s I like pie!

    your bud,
    Mike D

    Like

  2. A man is usually more careful of his money than of his principles. ~Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., speech, Boston, 8 January 1897

    I love this post Christina! money is exactly the problem with MMA legalization in Ontario, we have promotions popping up, shielding themselves from Ontario’s laws and regulations, yet preaching about how they are helping legalization of MMA in Ontario. As someone who eats, sleeps and breathes MMA, I find this insulting and demeaning. These organizations/promotions exploit the MMA fighters.

    …..and then there was Dana White….

    Remember the difference between a boss and a leader; a boss says “Go!” – a leader says “Let’s go!” ~E.M. Kelly

    http://slam.canoe.ca/Slam/Fighting/UFC/2008/11/18/7455031.html

    A man is only a leader when a follower stands beside him. ~Mark Brouwer

    Now the OAC has a force to be rekond with at its doorsteps, the pinnacle of MMA, knocking so loud the world can hear. Waiting with eyes of consequence and hiding behind nothing.

    If I’m not spending time with my family, then there is nothing I would want to do. No games, no hobbies, no special interests. This company, those fighters, this job, they’re my hobby. This is my life. It’s my everything. – Dana White

    Its sad, but I think MMA has very little chance of becoming “acceptable” in Ontario in the short term. I say acceptable because the law that prohibit MMA in Ontario are the same laws governing MMA and prize fighting through-out Canada, which I find is a big misconception amugst fans as well as some fighters.

    There’s an old Chinese proverb that says the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. Its people like you, Christina writing these blogs, interviewing these professional athletes and echoing the love and respect the MMA community has for one-another thats blazing the trails for us all. I almost get the feeling sometimes you underestimate the effect you have in promoting MMA, and it reminds me of an old proverb ~~No snowflake in an avalanche ever feels responsible.~~ Voltaire.

    much respect, much love…
    Michelle

    Like

  3. Nice passionate writeup!

    Like

  4. I love rare pie

    Like

  5. http://www.fightticker.com/story_0109091302_capitalist_goals_stymie_mma_growth_the_case_of_ontario_canada

    Like

  6. I love that someone with $12000 worth of credentials actually wrote this 🙂

    Like

  7. When $$$ is involved people will always get stepped on in order for someone else to get ahead! that’s reality! its all about the $$$! never think isn’t! its prize fighting.

    Like

  8. Looking for Florida university sport? Funny fantasy sport names is here http://blogprosport.com/ !
    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
