Tommy V


The good news is when I turn my head to the left I am free of pain. Lisa the active release doctor that worked on my injury said that even though it feels fine just to still be careful because its not 100% its about 80% right now! THE bad news is… having that three weeks off literally killed me.

I decided to do a work out today at phoenix, I had an hour to burn so I decided to burn some calories. Simon had bought me something called a Hopper Deck. And for those of you who might not know what it is, it’s simply an entire deck of cards only every card has a different work out on it. All workouts are crossfit workouts, which are generally hard but I mean they do wonders (I’ve gotten a lot of results). So instead of making up my own work out, I pull a random card out of the deck and away I go.

I pulled out a card called “Tommy V” and this particular work out was for time consisting of:

21 Thrusters (115lbs for men, 65lbs for women)

12 Rope climbs

15 Thrusters

9 Rope Climbs

9 Thrusters

6 Rope Climbs

Phoenix doesn’t have a rope so I improvised and did pull ups instead, and if you have read any of my other training entries you know how much I “love” doing pull ups (can you see the sarcasm between the lines)

I didn’t time myself, but I think I got it done in ten minutes or so.

Honestly, I was doing 70lbs over head press which is much harder then a thruster especially for women because they “apparently” don’t have any upper body strength, and I felt like I was struggling with a 65LB thruster do you know how FRUSTRATING that is. I would just zone out in my music and shake my head with irritation filling up my entire system.

The pull ups weren’t to bad they sucked as usual, my hands ripped apart as usual so nothing new on that front.

Then I did this program on the treadmill just to cool down burn a few more calories!

Its going to take a lot to get back where I was, there is no starting in the middle I’m right on the dirt path and have to work myself back up to gravel, then eventually cement (like my metaphor haha) anyways… you get my point.

I think I’m going to take up Simon’s offer to do Crossfit work outs at 9am (Mon, Wed, Fri) with Adam PLUS I’m sure Adam could think of some sport specific things for me to do as well and maybe I wont get as frustrated with a group of people (who knows), and then after those crossfit classes I’ll most likely go home because my mom will need the car, so I will eat shower and then maybe go back to the gym and work on sport specific things with Simon (or Adam if he can), like hand pads, stuff to help my jiu jits, stuff like that. And then later that night I’ll have BJJ or MMA at Edges.  So I’ll be training three days a week for sure at the gym and in those three days I’ll be doing three work outs. Then Sunday morning boxing… sounds good on paper, but I’ll see if I can stick to that. They say if you do something consistently for 21 days you either make or break a habit. So this should be interesting. And I’m sure my frustrated blogs will be entertaining.

ALSO I think I’m going to take it upon myself to make up a meal plan, and have one cheat day on the weekend. I can’t go by what other people say, there are so many things you can do to diet and so many people have so many different opinions on what is good and what’s not, so I think I’m going to do what I feel I need for myself and start there. OBVIOUSLY open for ideas from other people but still take control of my own needs.

So I leave in an hour or so for London, I’m attending a VIP party at “Up On Carling” with the guys who are throwing the Bisping Seminar and Bisping himself will be there also. Poor guy is going to have a rough time getting use to the time difference I’m sure. I can’t wait to interview him should be interesting.

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on November 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
