Modern Vision MMA…


Despite being extremely sore from the two hard workouts I did this week, I went down to Modern Vision Martial Arts in Welland for the grand opening of their new facility. I know owners Chris & Blayne Bonfoco through various grappling tournaments. I actually rolled and competed against Blayne back in 2003 and 2004 at the annual Joslin’s tourney. That was back when I was still trying to get a grasp on the entire jiu jitsu thing and I was coming fresh from a solid wrestling background.

SO needless to say it has been awhile since Blayne and I met up in competition and since then I’ve grown as a fighter and she now has her own facility where her and her husband Chris are creating their own team of mighty machines.

She showed Coach Marini and I around the gym, its actually quite spacey and nice, they have done a great job with it. PLUS they are in the Seaway Mall in Welland RIGHT NEXT to a Cineplex which is fantastic, so they are always grabbing people’s attention with the big glass windows that look out to the mall. I mean I’d be curious if I seen a cage in one corner, punching bags in another corner and people sparring through the windows, I’d totally want to go see what it’s all about.

After Blayne and I rolled a bit, I must say it was weird rolling with someone who is advanced and also knows what they are doing. Especially with them being as flexible as myself and can flow very well when they want too. You don’t come across many people like that NOR many women!

She showed me a few of the things she likes to do that I’m sure I’ll take into consideration while I’m rolling with some of the guys and competing against some of the women.

Her club did a unique demo to get peoples attention at the grand opening. Instead of standing up there and explaining to people what they offer, they threw on a mini fight card, to show the different styles they offer to those who become a member. Their members involved just had a lot of fun and just used it as a training session! It was good though, probably struck the interest of on looking spectators.

BUT my legs were so sore from the 300 body weight squats the previous day, and my arms and lats were still extremely tender from the 100 pull ups from Wednesdays work out (I know I need to suck it up). SO some positions while rolling with Blayne hurt when I was stretched out, but it was more muscle sore!!!

If you’re in the Niagara area Modern Vision Martial Arts is probably one of the better places to check out and train at. You can check them out on the web at http://www.modernvisionmma.com/

Christina

~ by Christina Sears on September 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
