Long Week…. R.I.P Babo


It has been a rough week for me; I haven’t been to the gym at all.

I originally had plans to get to the gym and do some lifting and conditioning on Monday, however my grandfather (Babo in Italian) was rushed to the hospital at 4am, my parents and his kids went to the hospital to make sure he was okay. At 7:30am I got the phone call to get to the hospital because he wasn’t going to make it.

But he did make it, he made it till the Wednesday his heart just wouldn’t let his lungs quit, he fought so hard for every breath and my entire family (all four of his kids were there PLUS their spouses and his 9 grand children PLUS their bf/gf) were there all of us staying strong and taking shifts so my Nonna (grandmother in Italian) wouldn’t be alone, and neither would he.

We watched him struggle, for three days so when he finally went… it was a bit of a relief knowing that he was better off. I was there when he took his last few breaths and I just whispered that we love him and it was alright to go.

So needless to say this week has been rough we did the funeral viewings on Thurs & Fri, and buried him Saturday. I just didn’t want to leave my family to relieve my stress in the gym.

So today I went over to Edges for boxing, my mind was else where, and I was really tired from the lack of sleep this week. Between sleeping in the hospital and staying awake by his side, and not being able to sleep because of everything on the brain…

But it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. I did some good rounds (I thought anyway), I have to stop hesitating now and keep being aggressive or else I’m going to be eaten a live in the states. But I noticed when I’m thinking about something Edge or someone else showed me it blocks my natural instinct to do things. It happened all the time in Jiu Jits and even wrestling.

But I mean as slow and behind as I feel at Edges I have to keep in mind everyone is bigger (MUCH bigger), they hit a hell of a lot harder then any chick, and they wont cut me any slack, so every sparring session is almost like a fight. I’ve got to watch my chin, and be on my “A” game!

But they are all great, and an amazing team we all work our asses off to help the other out… Like Edge said he only wants guys in there that are going to train hard every time, because we are all helping each other get better you know?

But it was good to get my mind off things even if it was just for an hour and a bit. Hopefully get in some more sparring Wednesday with Christine if she’s around.

Christina

 

~ by Christina Sears on September 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “Long Week…. R.I.P Babo”

  1. Hi Christina,

    Sam here… I’m so sorry for your loss, I wish you and your family a speedy recovery in this time of sorrow.

    Sicerely

    Sam Bosch

    Like

  2. Hello Christina.
    We here at THE PRIDE GYM INC. in Trail, BC Canada are sorry for your loss. Our thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family.
    We look forward to your future and will be looking out for you.
    From everyone at THE PRIDE GYM

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
